POP – People Over Profits

Old Skool Priorities (people over profits)

I used to tell my parents things like “I never chose to be born
on a planet cursed with pollution on the brink of a nuclear war”.
I used to pray to God and wonder if he heard me,
if I read Buddhas “existence is suffering” a little too early.
Now I know if I chose to be here now like Ram Dass then it’s likely
that I was a warrior, knowing very well that I might be
burdened with priorities at odds with mainstream society.
Didn’t have many friends as a kid, who cares if facebook says you like me?
But give thanks for those that love me, that are like me, and share my priorities;
that people are more important than profits. Or please,
that affection is more important than sexing or sex.
That’s just my data, we’ll all die so lets not live with regrets.

People over profits. Affection over sex.

Still making profit, making love and living life without regrets.

People over profits. Affection over sex.

That;s just my data, let’s not regrets.

(But if you choose it, it’s pop music.

Popular music if you’re brave enough to choose it.

But if you choose it. it’s pop music.

My data’s People Over Profit. P-O-P that’s pop music.)

I was a weirdo before Joey Badass and Ab-Soul made Chakras and third eyes trendy
When people said all that ‘spiritual’ hippy-hop would end me.
Before chakras and third eyes and spirit science was trending,
I was mind bending before Kendrick spoke to dead rappers on his albums ending.

Difference is now Kendrick Lamar, Joey and Ab-Soul are all rich.
I can only blame myself, not just cos my Hip-Hop’s real or British.
My videos weren’t HD, my tracks weren’t mastered, it’s
true, it’s not cos I was spiritual but I was no perfectionist.
So learn to dodge these fakes, and learn from all these snakes,
and don’t let my time be wasted here – please learn from my mistakes.
Mistakes? Oops, my mistake, mistakes don’t exist.
I’m always where I’m meant to be, even in pubs getting pissed.
And the ‘spiritual’ may judge you, but judging ain’t too spiritual.
I remember when I was so tee total sober and thinking I was too cool.
I was a weirdo before Joey Badass and Ab-Soul made Chakras and third eyes trendy
When people said all that ‘spiritual’ hippy-hop would end me.
Before chakras and third eyes and spirit science became mainstream rappers themes,
Before Kendrick told interviewers he spoke to dead rappers in his dreams…

People over profits. Affection over sex.

Still making profit, making love and living life without regrets.

People over profits. Affection over sex.

That’s just my data, let’s not live with regrets.

 11083825_812322155523201_8473166263097467314_n

Leave a Reply

