KP vs Mixmag, Vice and Simon Cowell

BRAND NEW MIXTAPE AND A BRAND NEW EP coming to Bandcamp this winter!

http://www.kpkevthepoet.bandcamp.com

So it looks like this winter we’re gonna have two very different KP releases, my EP of mainly self produced acoustic tracks but also a mixtape of me rhyming over banging hip-hop instrumentals I’ll give away for free. I think I have settled on the name Low Fi, High Concept for the EP but I still can’t decide what to call the mixtape now though, currently working title is AWESOME! The Multi-Dimensional Mixtape, but that might be too cheesy? It does need a high-impact title to suit the flavour though and I use the words Awesom and multi-dimensional in conversation alot and the mixtape is multidimensional as the first half is Kev riding hip-hop instrumentals and the second half is Kev riding a psy-dub mix. Yes it is.

Mmmaybe I shouldn’t be shy this year and should submit my new creations for review in places like Mixmag and Vice… but maybe I don’t care what critics think? Do I risk the fear of rejection and/or criticism for the possibility of free promotion and/or critical praise?Well maybe I have already taken the first step in publicly admitting I’m afraid… What’s next X-Factor? Why not? (Because Simon Cowell doesn’t want to hear you rapping about changing the monetary system, singing about buddhism over Psy-Dub or doing Mary Poppins covers in a Hip-Hop stylee even if it would make great television…)

Leave a Reply

