Perspective – from mainstream radio to Palestine via football

Builders in my moms house listening to Radio 1. Forgot about that vibration. How you listen to the same 10 songs in a row for 6 hours? That’s normal, right?
Funny, last week someone was in my house in Bristol and asked me what team I support. No hate but I had honestly forgotten that most men in England let the success of 11 men they have absolutely no control over determine whether or not they’re happy. That’s normal too. I’m not even dissing, we all let things we have no control over affect our moods, like whether or not 1 of the 7 billion people on planet Earth happens to fancy you or not. Or whether or not an insane and amoral society approves of your decisions.
Some people get miserable cos their football team lost, I get miserable because there are children on fire in Palestine. And I’m the weirdo.
How did I get from Radio 1 to Palestine? Oh yeah, what seems normal to most seems cruel and unusual to me and what has become normal to me – not knowing anything about pop culture, football or Robin Thicke but caring about people in other countries – that seems weird to other people.
Essentially though, we are all doing the best we can with the information we have at the time, I’m not criticising, this is just stuff that is happening and you can look at it from any angle you choose. It’s my preference to write about the other angles…

Screen Shot 2014-10-06 at 07.09.41

Leave a Reply

