Revolution, Emmigration or Relaxation?

I dunno. Being angry doesn’t help. Knowing old people are getting their heating cut off while bankers get richer for screwing us over isn’t encouraging though. And we’ve still got it better here than they do in many of the countries that we screwed over to get wealth. Maybe we should just be grateful that we ever had a welfare state. Is this just an expression of our desire to be of benefit? Maybe the bankers and the politicians are doing what’s best for their families, maybe most of you would do the same. Maybe. What I perceive to be injustice makes me angry, but that’s just what I perceive.

Am I supposed to acknowledge the perfection within the imperfection or am I supposed to chant down babylon? Am I supposed to sort my own stuff out before requesting other people to sort out theirs? Maybe I should remove the word ‘supposed’ from my vocabulary.

Are WE supposed to have a revolution? A political one, a social one, a psychological one? A bloody one? All of the above?
Some days I just wake up depressed and angry. Sometimes I’m angry with myself. Sometimes I’m angry at the world. Palestine is still occupied. It’s not in vogue to talk about Tibet anymore. No one cares about the thousands of disadvantaged kids who wake up in British housing estates to newspapers telling the they have no future and televisions that tell them if you’re not a celebrity you’re not important.
But maybe none of that matters. Maybe this is all part of ‘the game’, maybe “they’ve got to fulfill the book”. 

Some days I love humans. Jumping out of space shuttles with parachutes and space suits, building skate parks, planting trees, inventing drugs, painting things, writing raps, holding ceremonies, starting charities, making babies. 
Some days I am ashamed to call myself human, bankers, politics, pollution, STILL fighting wars in 2014? Come on. Like an adult tells a child to share… ask a bank to share! Ask a nation! 

Maybe I should quit trying to save a world that neither wants nor needs to be saved and tidy my goddamned room. Maybe I should remove the word ‘should’ from my vocabulary. Is this just an expression of our desire to be of benefit? 

Meanwhile they’ve just back-doored a bunch of laws about freedom of speech so I don’t even know if having an opinion is legal anymore.

Wake me up when the revolution starts. (Or if you’ve found somewhere nice for us to emmigrate.)

 

Image

Leave a Reply

